Do you Stress to Impress?!

Do you Stress to Impress on your layouts!?

My motivation for this post is to make a confession …

Sometimes I just don’t have the mojo to completely bedazzle my LO’s with amazing embellishments all placed in the perfect spots and tilted in the right angles giving my LO the MAGIC I envisioned when I started! For me, it usually happens when I am getting to the very last pages of a themed project I have been working on for an extended period of time and am running out of creative versions playing off the same base theme. Know what I mean?

Equally as much, I then struggle with putting the pages aside and coming back to them; I usually put a huge amount of pressure on myself to finish a page, wanting it to be IMPRESSIVE before I can “put it away”! So I sit there and stare at it and try things and get frustrated and STRESSED … Then I end up doing things that I don’t love and it wrecks the LO all together. Been there? Ugh! WHY???

So being a little older and a little wiser and kinder to myself, I decided to set aside three Los, which are the last of the pages for our vacation album, I have been working on for a longer time than I want to mention.  😉

Here is what I put aside … (YES it made me itchy, and they quietly chanted to me “embellish me, embellish me, embellish me) …

StresstoImpressLOB4 StresstoImpressrough-and-tough-b4

I have to apologize for the quality of my pictures; I did not intend to create a post from them. I had taken pictures to send to Cheryl and Brande – a little text of “HELP WHAT DOES IT NEED”? The best answer was B saying “EMBELLISH THAT THING”! 🙂 Because I am impatient, putting these LOs away was really tough!

So after sucking it up and putting them aside, I returned to these two LOS a few days later and EMBELLISHED them just a wee bit and was very happy to finally put them away as FINISHED and LOVED instead of FINISHED AND FORCED! Valuable lesson learned: me practicing patience pays off!

go-duck-go-after

rough-and-tough-after

Here is another sample, I did not have any embellishments on this LO other than the lock & key:

StresstoImpressanother-example

Materials used: random wooden embellishments collected over the years, Recollections Awesome Boy, Recollections Memories Documented, Close to My Heart Waxy Flax & Corkboard Shapes, Create a Critter Cricut cartridge, Dylusions Paint and Spray, Jo SonJa’s Texture PasteStampin’ up! Silver Buttons

~ Shar

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian  = Scrapstorian. Are you a Scrapstorian?

Leave a Reply

