Scrapstorian loves Once Upon a Sketch

Okay, it’s official: Scrapstorian ❤ Once Upon a Sketch! Brande was first to discover their amazing January sketch, then Shar and I jumped on board.

January+2014

Check out our takes on this great sketch!

brandeOk, I better start off with admitting I am an absolute sucker for chicken wire embellishments and make any excuse to include them on my layouts. Also, when I see other scrappers use chicken wire in layouts it always catches my eye! Perhaps it’s the great memories they bring back from being on the farm as a kid?! When I saw this sketch with the chicken wire embellishment mixed with the dainty blossoms and swirls in such a clean format; I had to give it a go. The added bonus … I have been wracking my brain for a feminine meets masculine sketch to scrap my recent engagement photos. I was not at all surprised when Once Upon a Sketch solved my problem with this challenge.  Ta ladies!

OUASJanB

Supplies include: My Mind’s Eye Kraft Paper, American Crafts white cardstock, Creative Memories journaling pen, Heidi Swapp Colour Shine Mist Bronzer and Stickers and Embellishments, Ranger Ink Dylusions Ink Spray Cherry Pie, American wood filler, Glaze pens, Tim Holtz Layering Stencil Splatter, The Crafters Workshop Stencil

cheryl

I swear I started with the same sketch Brande did … My layout took several turns but I love it. I was looking through photos and came across two from when my son was little. My first thought was, “There’s so much I would love to tell that person.” So, that’s what I did. I added a thin layer of gesso to the background paper, then used molding paste and a stencil over top.

OUASJanprocess2

I made a huge mistake after this and dipped what I thought was a clean paintbrush into white paint. When I tried to paint, I got purple. Eeek! So, I smushed (a technical term, as Shar would say) some green ink onto my cutting mat, mixed it with gesso and tried to cover the purple. I like the texture and colour this added, especially after I went over it again with the stencil. However, to fully hide my mistake, I rearranged my journaling block. Then I really stepped out of my box and added flowers! I was kinda freaking out. All is well now.  😉

OUASJanC

Supplies include: My Mind’s Eye paper, stickers and chipboard, gesso, Allison Kreft for Webster’s Pages stickers, Prima chalk ink

shar

P1170148

17 comments

  1. Well, I instantly saw I forgot my blurb, lol! I loved the layout and the mix of dainty and country… anything to get a bit rustic always has my attention! I used wood filler and some Mr. Holtz’s stencil, a little HS spray and paint from SU. What a great LO to work with. This picture definitely needs a tuning and a focus… I tried iPhone pic temporarily! (Will go back to camera very soon.) All in all love the LO and its versatility!

  2. Oh wow… three beautiful takes on the sketch… so here goes….
    Brande – Your layout is perfect for engagement photos. I love that you kept it clean and simple and for me the handwritten journalling is very special. I love the kind of grungy meets girly feel of your layout.
    Cheryl – as an about to be new granny your journalling brought a lump to my throat. I wish someone had given me that advice thirty years ago and it is the advice that I gave to my DIL… I love that you didn’t ditch your layout with your ‘mess’ just proving there are no mistakes in scrapbooking and I love your ‘fix’. Beautiful layout to record what can be an overwhelming time for a new mom ❤
    Shar – a bold fun layout and I love how the photo of you and your nephew just pops on the black background. Great work all of you. Thank you so much for playing along with us at OUAS this month.

  3. Gorgeous layout! Love the grungy and yet simple look. The precious photo and message really highlighted the whole layout.Thanks for joining us at Once Upon A Sketch 🙂

  4. Wow, three gorgeous OUAS layouts!!

    Brande, I love how your simplicity draws my eye to this gorgeous photo, so full of love!! I adore how you used your journaling as part of your page design and in your own had. The red boxes around special words are such a nice touch!!

    Cheryl, yes, it is so fun to see the variety of layouts from one sketch!! Oh my, the lessons we learn over the years that we wish we knew when our children were so young. What a great take on the journaling prompt!! I love how you shared about turning your paint mistake into something quite stunning!!

    Shar, what a fabulous and fun layout!! Love these smiles in your photo that just pops right off the page!! Love the paint and stenciled background! Please don’t forget to tell us about your journaling.

    Thanks for joining us for the January Once Upon A…Sketch Challenge! I hope you’ll stop by our Once Upon A…Sketch Facebook Page to share your wonderful layouts there. ~ Blessings, Tracey

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.