1 to 3 Kit Challenge with Cocoa Daisy

The 1 to 3 Challenge is a scrapbook kit review. A member of the Scrapstorian DT samples one scrapbook kit and applies it to three different sketch challenges in a month. We then document our experience for you – providing our thoughts on the kit company, the contents and how versatile it was for different challenges. We also talk about the sketch challenges themselves. Check out our past 1 to 3 Challenges.

For this 1 to 3 Challenge I am working with the lovely product from Cocoa Daisy. Cocoa Daisy has so much to offer! Kits for scrapbooking, day in the life (pocket) scrapbooking kits, and planner kits too. You don’t have to get a monthly subscription either if you want to trial a kit before committing. They have their kits and other items are available in their shop and online classes too. The coolest thing is that Cocoa Daisy includes product from other companies and their very own design items in each kit!

Total disclosure, I have tried once before to create a 1 to 3 Challenge with Cocoa Daisy and I could just not get my scrap on. I think between not feeling super crafty myself, and not having photos that really blend well with the soft, pink/peach, blossom colours that seem to be classic Cocoa Daisy. I am either a bright true colour scrapper or a distressed, outdoorsy scrapper and my photos align with that well.

So for this second (and successful if I say so myself) attempt with Cocoa Daisy instead of automatically ordering the March 2017 kit being that I am doing this challenge during March … I instead selected a kit selection that I knew I had some pictures for. I ordered the December 2016 Day in the Life Kit, December 2016 Collect Pattern Papered Add On, and More December 2016 Coca Daisy Exclusive Papers. Ironically I did not have any December or Christmas photos in mind for this kit selection, I had all summer time photos in mind and, well, it worked out well!

Here is boon I received in the mail from Cocoa Daisy in a beautiful Cocoa Daisy box – just the packaging made me happy not to mention all of the amazing goodies inside!

Lasting Memories Layout Challenges

My first page using Cocoa Daisy goodies was with the Lasting Memories Birthday Theme Sketch Challenge March 2017. While I did not use a birthday theme as the challenge required, I could not resist the sketch itself. I love circles and multi photo layouts and it worked perfectly to feature a major part of my life these years – studying, I am working on a degree part-time while working full-time and scrapbooking in any free time.

Here is the sketch from Lasting Memories:

Here is the layout I created:

Creative Scrappers

For my second page using Cocoa Daisy, I used the Creative Scrappers March Sketch Challenge #304 to feature some awesome pictures of my baby sister and her hiking, yoga tree, climbing madness during out vacation in Salt Spring Island, British Columbia this summer.

Here is the sketch from Creative Scrappers:

Here is the layout I created … originally I was very close to the sketch itself and then started to play a bit more with it (you know those late night scraps where you just move things around more than accomplish anything) and ended up ditching one photo out of the three and bringing the layering much tighter into the middle of the page.

Paper Issues

For my third layout I actually used a December photo for the December Cocoa Daisy items – novel. I loved the light teal / blue in the kit as it really draws out the red in my little brother’s parka and toque and the sketch from Paper Issues March 2017 Sketchy Saturday was a fabulous fit!

Here is the Paper Issues sketch:

Here is the layout I created:

Bonus

Well that is my 3 sketches for 1 kit but I could not resist making a bonus sketch – the paper collection with its pink undertones was just screaming to scrap this awesome photo from a sailing trip this summer off Salt Spring Islands.

All in all the Cocoa Daisy kits are really quite fabulous but do lend themselves I think to a more feminine style of scrapbooking which for some is perfect and for me with so many boys, sports and hikes in my life is a little bit of a challenge. But challenge accepted!

~ Brande

Scrapbooker + Story teller + Historian = Scrapstorian. Are you a Scrapstorian?

4 comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.